Gowan Jewellers – the history of 3 Bell Street premises.
1841 - Thomas Pratt aged 60 was a Watchmaker living & working in the premises on what was then known as Cock Street .
By 1851 William Pratt, aged 49 with his son George Pratt aged 24 took over the premises.
William was a journeyman watchmaker and by 1861 the premises, then number 29 Cock Street, is listed as Watchmaker's Shop.
February 1988 - Joanne opens
The Gowan Gallery.
1990’s - art, contemporary crafts and jewellery
Into the 21st Century - contemporary & classic quality
2011 - a new look and a new name
2018 - the workbench moves into the retail space so clients can see Joanne at work.
Approx 1905 - Ashwell & Chambers Jewellers.
This became 'Ashwells' and then 'Lincolns'.
Joanne stands in front of the small workshop area within the shop.
The workshop moves into an adjoining premises at the back
The interior is opened up, new showcases, wooden flooring and when the fireplace beam is exposed it reveals the date 1707
A design consultation area is incorporated.
2021 - Sally & Emma take over the premises
File and Forge Jewellery School